Domesday, Fiseborne; a parish in the Hundred of Box and Stockbridge; Rape of Chichester; distant 1½ mile west from Chichester, its Post-town and Railway station. Union, West Hampnett. Population in 1811, 252; in 1861, 341. Benefice, a Rectory, valued at £189; Patron, the Lord Chancellor; Incumbent, Rev. Matthew Parrington, M.A., of Christ's College, Cambridge. Date of earliest Parish Register, 1589. Acreage, 610. Chief Landowners, Francis Smith, Esq., and Rev. Sir Thomas Miller, Bart. Seat, Salt Hill, F. Smith, Esq.
The parish is called "New” relatively to "Old” Fishbourne, which is part of Bosham. The etymology is obvious, from its little burn or stream, well stocked with fish. In Saxon times Fiseborne was held by Earl Tosti, but after the Conquest Earl Roger granted it to the abbey of Seez in Normandy. When Henry V. confiscated the possessions of the alien priories, this manor was given to the nunnery of Sion in Middlesex, which he had founded in 1414. After the Dissolution it was held successively by the families of Fenner and Bowyer. It now belongs to Sir Thomas Miller.
The church, which is a "Peculiar" of the Dean of Chichester, is said to be dedicated to St. Peter and Our Lady. It is a picturesque little edifice among trees. It was rebuilt about the year 1850, except the chancel, which retains some ancient features. Some Roman remains have been found here, on the line of road which ran from Regnum (Chichester) to Portus Magnus (Porchester).
[S. A. C. Watermills in Domesday, v, 270 Church, xii, 71. xviii, 93. Bells, xvi, 209. The Fishbourne, xvi, 262.]